Friends of THATLou – Kasia Dietz

The Friends of the THATLou series is running for the month of November with guest blog posts from just that, Friends of THATLou:

Years before THATLou existed as a company I would occasionally organise a hunt when special friends came to visit (the mixing of French and American friends was often too tricky at parties). Handbag designer Kasia Dietz and her Italian (who were mutual friends of a good friend in NY), joined one and there began her unflappable support of the THATLou cause. The very THATLou logo was born at one of Kasia’s bag painting workshops (as was written about here) — which are, by the way, wonderful ways to see how she makes her divine bags. She also wrote about THATLou on her blog when I ran a test run and before I even thought of registering it properly as a company.  Needless to say this New York queen of advertising-turned-Parisian-Bag-Designer is at the core of the Friends of THATLou.

As a contribution, Kasia has written about her favourite artist, Paul Klee – so without further ado:

Blue Night, by Paul Klee

Blue Night, by Paul Klee

My love affair with art began at a young age. Perhaps even before birth, considering the many creative projects my mom was working on while pregnant with me. (Yes, I like to think somehow I inspired her.) It was actually a collection of art books that I discovered in our home library that led me to Paul Klee. From that moment, I was smitten. Somehow, even at that inexperienced age, still rather naive to the workings of the creative mind, I understood him. The colors in his artwork, the words in his writings with which to express these works and the life that led to them. I had discovered the language of art, self expression in the visual form.

Senecio by Paul Klee

Senecio by Paul Klee

It is this German/Swiss man who I turn to for inspiration in my own creative endeavors. Whether it be designing bags or writing. Often I pick up his diary or lose myself in his drawings and paintings. In NYC I would spend countless hours amidst his artworks in the MoMA. In Paris our romance continues as I search for him within the chambers of the Musée d’Orsay and Centre Pompidou, amidst the many French greats. In 2010, I was overjoyed to find an exhibition of his work at the Musée de l’Orangerie. There is one chance encounter with this creative soul that remains most dear to me. During my travels, I found myself in Bern, Switzerland on the one evening when the Paul Klee Museum was open late. Certainly a night never to forget.(Might I suggest a Paul Klee Treasure Hunt?)

In Memoriam by Paul Klee

In Memoriam by Paul Klee

This journey that I share with Klee has taught me that it is through the eyes and words of artists and writers that we see and experience the world differently. Often in a way that makes more sense. “Art does not reproduce the visible; rather, it makes visible” -Paul Klee

Young Moe by Paul Klee

Young Moe by Paul Klee

Kasia can be found on her blog (Love in the City of Lights), website (Kasia Dietz), twitter (@KasiaDietzBags and @KasiainParis) and facebook. And hmmmm Good idea on the Paul Klee Treasure Hunt, perhaps we could have an un-timed one called the Trans-Alps Klee Hunt between Paris and Bern! But for the immediate, thank you for introducing THATLou to a more modern artist, as I’ve only ever focused on the Louvre old masters. A great introduction to the imminent Musee d’Orsay treasure hunt running at the end of January!

Rote Weste by Paul Klee

Rote Weste by Paul Klee

Leave a Reply

